Feedback Forum (any comment,suggestion,grievance........) click here
Vice Chancellor Message

The University Campus is located on the western side of the Dal Lake in the city of Srinagar which lies in the state of Jammu and Kashmir . Situated at Hazratbal, an idyllic area on the western side of the fabulous Dal Lake of Srinagar. Hazratbal is a place of pilgrimage for the Muslims of Kashmir, that enshrines the relic of the Islamic prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him).On the other hand blessings rain from the top of the shankracharia hill, also called the Takht-e-Sulaiman. The campus is spread over 263 acres of lush green land with three adjacent campuses of exquisite beauty, Amar Singh Bagh, Naseem Bagh and Mirza Bagh. The main campus of the University at Hazratbal Srinagar houses maximum postgraduate departments and research and other centres. However, pursuant to the decision of the University to develop the Naseem Bagh into a heritage site, many departments were shifted from the Naseem Bagh to the main campus and efforts are on to shift the remaining ones to fully develop the Naseem Bagh into a heritage garden. Naseem Bagh being converted into in heritage site has a noble groove of Chinar trees. Presently we have 696 Chinar trees here which are being taken care of in active collaboration with the state and other agencies. Recently the university acquired around 300 kanals of land around Zakura, Hazratbal (One km away from main campus) area for future expansion and growth. The University has established two satellite campuses in its territorial jurisdiction in South (Anantnag) and North Kashmir (Delina Baramullah) respectively with the aim of reaching out to people living in remote areas of the Kashmir division and providing educational facilities to these communities for their socio-economic development. Three more campuses at Kupwara, Kargil and Leh are also coming up for the benefit of people living in these far flung areas.

The university at present has 13 faculties, 38 teaching departments, 15 research and other centres. Over the years university has evolved at very fast rate, with all the major faculties of Faculty of Arts, Social Sciences, Education, Commerce and Management Studies, Law, Applied Sciences and Technology, Physical and Material Sciences, Biological Sciences, Medicine, Dental Surgery, Engineering, Music and Fine Arts and Oriental Learning which are managed by academicians, who have considerable teaching and research experience, some of whom occupy places of eminence in the academic world.

The university has fully computerized library and state of art IT infrastructure for providing multitude of online services for the different stakeholders of the system. The University stands accredited for a period of Five Years with a CGPA of 3.11 on a Four Point Scale at A Grade.

It will be my endeavour to make a concerted and collective effort in moving the University towards the newer heights for which it possesses the necessary infrastructure with an objective of making this Highest Seat of Learning a model Institution in all its spheres besides contributing in the socio economic development of the people of this region.

Professor Talat Ahmad